暂未添加该信息。

订阅本站的 RSS 2.0 新闻组

丽君主页 >> 文章 >> 开其 >> 浏览信息《A Moment of Joy》

开其 | 评论(0) | 阅读(1999)
    查看详细访友列表 访友脚印

星期六   晴天 
    主题 A Moment of Joy

A Moment of Joy
    Twenty years ago, I drove a cab for a living. It was a cowboy's life, a life for someone who wanted no boss.What I did not realize was that it was also a ministry. Because I drove the night shift, my cab became a moving confessional. Passengers climbed in, sat behind me in total anonymity, and told me about Rock drill their lives. I encountered people whose lives amazed me, ennobled me, made me laugh and weep.¡¡But none touched me more than a woman I picked up late one August night.I was responding to a call from a small brick fourplex in a quiet part of town. I assumed I was being sent to pick up some people who had been partying, or someone who had just had a fight with a lover, or a worker heading to an early shift at some factory for the industrial part of town.When I arrived at 2:30 a.m., the building was dark except for a single light in a ground floor window. Under such circumstances, many drivers just honk once or twice, wait a minute, then drive away. But FOAM MACHINE I had seen too many impoverished people who depended on taxis as their only means of transpor- tation.Unless a situation smelled of danger, I always went to the door.This passenger might be someone who needs my assistance, I reasoned to myself. So I walked to the door and knocked. ¡°Just a minute,¡± answered a frail, elderly voice. I could hear something being dragged across the floor. After a long pause, the door opened. A small woman in her 80s stood before me. She was wearing a print dress and a pillbox hat with a veil pinned on it, like somebody out of a 1940s movie. By her side was a small nylon suitcase.The apartment looked as if no one had lived in it for years. All the furniture was covered with sheets. There were no clocks on the walls, no knickknacks or utensils on the counters. In the corner was a cardboard box filled